OHS wraps up 2019 and looks forward to Spring

After nine years, Aimie Harris, the Orono Horticultural Society’s longest running president, has stepped down. For 2020 Harris has taken on the role of secretary.

The 2020 Directors of the Orono Horticultural Society. Sitting from (LtoR): Denise Leslie, Shelly Etmanskie, Carol Bailey, vice president, and Cathy Humphrey. Standing from (LtoR): Gord Humphrey, Elizabeth MacLeod, Joan Osmok, Aimie Harris, secretary, Alan Herring, president, and Mary-K Hardy. Absent: Lorna Atkins, Carol Mostert and Beryl Clark, treasurer.

The Orono Horticultural Society will be celebrating their 100th Anniversary in 2021. To commemorate this milestone, ‘We’re In the Hayfield Now Daylily Farm’, created a special flower, held by Shelley Etmanskie. The flower was named Orono’s Centennial Beauty and will be for sale at the Spring Flower Show in May for $20. Members submitted names and the selection was a combination of three submissions.

Larry Dickenson received the Extra Mile Award in Memory of Dini Schoenmaker, donated by her family. Larry is pictured with Dini’s daughters Janet Standeven (L) and Yvonne Maitland.

Pictured from (L) Anneke Plazek won Best in Show Photography, Liz Rankin-Reid won the Judges Choice award for her Home Adornment entry and Shelley Etmanskie won Best In Show for her entry in For the Birds.

Leave a Reply

To read these FULL stories, pick up your copy of The Orono Weekly Times!
Get This Week's Issue


Skip to content