BOAA and BBBS Clarington receive Ontario Trillium grants

On January 24 the Honourable Neil Lumsden, Minister of Tourism, Culture, and Sport announced that the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport is providing 12 non-profit organizations in the Region of Durham with $874,200 in funding through the Ontario Trillium Foundation’s (OTF) Capital grant stream. This funding will help to ensure that communities have safe and ready access to critical programming, activities, and spaces.


CHL U13 Local League

Orono 13U T1 Leafs: McMahon leads the way

By Ace O’Day
Orono T1 locked up with Clarington #3 on Saturday night at the Orono Ice Palace. The Leafs came out flying. Kain Turkewitsch had a partial breakaway in the first shift, but was denied by Thunder goalie Garret Annis. Orono continued to keep the puck in Clarington’s end for much of the period, but it was Clarington who opened the scoring.


CHL U18 Local League

Newcastle T1 Stars top Orono T1 Leafs

Monday, Jan 22 – The Newcastle T1 Stars entertained the Orono T1 Leafs at the Newcastle Memorial Arena. Taking advantage of home ice, the Stars claimed a 5-2 win over the Leafs.


January 24, 2024

Since 1972, Knights of Columbus have sponsored the Knights of Columbus Free Throw Championships for boys and girls between the ages of 9 and 14 to provide an athletic outlet and encourage the values of sportsmanship and healthy competition. St. Francis of Assisi Parish Council 11268 has been organizing the free throw championship at St. Francis of Assisi elementary School for the past ten years excluding the COVID years. This year’s coordinator was Conly Bayley who was impressed with the spirit of both the participants and the spectators. The ten winners will now go to the District championship in Cobourg in February and then on to the Regionals in Peterborough on February 25. The scores will then be tabulated from all three events and compared to all participating Councils across Ontario. Last year two from St. Francis of Assisi won their age group at both the District and Regionals. The 2024 winners are: Girls 9 years of age, Tianna Nieves Tejada; Boys 9 years of age, Kaden Taylor; Girls 10 years of age, Lily Bryant; Boys 10 years of age, Patrick Porzio; Girls 11 years of age, Sienna Barrassin; Boys 11 years of age, Jayson Beatty; Girls 12 years of age, Brielle Sid-sworth; Boys 12 years of age, Peter Ristovski; Girls 13 years of age, Malena Tarasio; and, Boys 13 years of age, Tyler Dawson.



Skip to content